Okay, this is long overdue

Mission trip and highlights!!!! The adventure that was Medan

Day 1: 5th August

The flight there:

A pretty short one, ’bout an hour.

Yeah, that’s half the story (unglamness aside) Woke up at 4 in the morning. Almost not making aboard the plane, (signs of spiritual warfare?) having cell group that night (another long story in itself)

And yeah, we were picked up by Pastor Nuah (Deputy senior Pastor of Medan Harvest), Awie (youth leader, businessman, marketplace leader) and gang. Their Hospitality was awesome!!!!

And yes, we went to work almost immediately: allocation of cell groups to go to, breakdown of who’s bunking with who, the services and special events we were to grace. Dumping of our stuff in the hotel rooms and immediately preparation for sermons, offering messages and stuff began (note to all future SOT students: There’s a reason why mock cell and preaching test IS SO IMPORTANT, take it seriously!).

The first miracle happened bef the first cell that night: Ming Jiao & I were given this adult cell in the middle of the city. Apparently Awie told us that they were an adult cell with an average age of 30. Yay, both of us were happy enough!! But oddly, while meditating in his presence: verses of love and messages of grace and forgiveness kept flowing into my heart!! (And I prepared a message on prosperity btw, a super ‘gao zai’ confirm shake the earth kind). And I took it to be for the youth service tomorrow and brushed it aside(first mistake). And ming jiao found her offering message being drifting in the direction of love also: freaky huh?

And that night, after a hair-raising motorbike ride (an experience in itself) going round and round Medan for 30 mins. We arrived at the place and shock horror shock: An elderly family was there waiting for us!! (there goes my prosperity sermon) Kids with an average age of 5-8, housewives and men averaging 55-65. (ages together averaged totalled 30. yeah, the average age was 30 =X). And immediately in the space of 15 mins both of us had to change everything!!!

and so the cell group began: our interpreters did an ok job, and the praise and worship was in bahasa (MJ & I were flowing and singing in the spirit together), it was beautiful. (And also I’ve never been so desperate for God’s anointing then) It went like: Ok, you win God. Please please please guide me what to do!!! What to preach!!! Howhowhow???

Towards the end of worship; I felt God speak into my heart: You speak from your heart, and I will do the preaching

And as shared earlier, I preached in the direction of meeting needs and healing hurts, suddenly, the word shifted in the direction of deep emotional hurts, especially in the family. At that moment, I felt led to share my personal testimony of my life, especially my fractured relationship with my father. At that moment the atmosphere changed.

And in eventually, it ended up becoming a message on unconditional love. And to love those whom are the most unlovable. Then came the miracle: The CGL was so touched (later MJ shared that she saw him starting to tear when sharing about my dad) that he asked everyone to pray for me.

I was stunned, I came to minister to them and ended up being ministered. Tears came to my eyes when they laid hands and prayed for me.

Had great fellowship with them after that. When MJ and I returned to the hotel, we couldn’t stop talking about it!!!! Can’t sleep too!!! And words weren’t enough to express the gratitude to God for salvaging the situation(and how awesome he was back there……..)

wow…..

Lesson for day one: God puts you in disastrous situations so that his glory will shine brightly within us. We are the light that cannot be hidden!!!

And of course, don’t try to jump ahead of God and heed the warning signs when they come!!

That was that: my first time ever leading a cell group =)

Day 2: 6th August

Yep, You’ll have noticed I have no pics for this day: Cos I lost my Camera!!!!!

Long story:

It began with prayer meeting at 6am, nothing remarkable, except that Jesher was interpreting (not exactly Xiaoting/Lulu standard but understandable).

Eugene asked the night before if Wan Teng & I were willing to take another cell last minute. And we’re both like: why not?

And even during the the morning prayer, I received a word to preach for that cell: Entering into God’s rest.

After last nite’s experience, this time I know what direction to go!! Then came another last minute bomb: Organize a short games session for a youth outreach at noon.

Worked with another teammate and came up with a short simple yet interactive game (a miracle in itself as I’m not exactly an I person). With the help of Awie(the best bahasa interpreter in the world =) ), brought the house down at USU (Sumatra’s finest university) and pumped them up

Ps: until the school principal had to come in and quiten us down, haha. We were THAT loud.

Then came the whammy: while having lunch at A&W (yeah, plenty of wonders and signs in this mission trip), I left my sis’ cybershot camera (and only realised it 3 minutes after leaving the place) and it was gone. Gone in 3 minutes…

It felt like a straight hammer into my heart. Not only were those pictures gone, but how was I to answer to sis???

Felt so depressed while heading up to the next place to minister: Bukit Doa Drug Rehab center. Thoughts started coming to my head: You can’t preach while you’re feeling like this!!! How to speak about God’s rest when you yourself  aren’t right??!! Don’t go!!! Give up!!!!

That afternoon, while listening to Gabriel’s sermon (a simple one on love). I reasoned within me: Look at them, do they even understand what Gabriel’s preaching? They are much worse off than I am!!! And because of a camera I’m throwing a tantrum and refusing to do my work??!! And that won’t be fair on Wan Teng!! She already preached to the students and to ask her to preach again at the last minute?? How does that reflect on myself?? Wake up!!!

And so I put the camera saga behind and focused on the message. Hmmm, then came another surprise. Turned out the cell we were heading wasn’t the usual cell, but one full of late 20s-30s. As refered by my previous post: all marketplace people, church staff (including a worship leader and a pastor) yeah, no joke, a pastor coming to listen to my word.

Again I was full of doubt before the meeting. How how how?? I’m not even a Connect group leader!! You sure you picked the right guy lord??

Just then I was shown the image of jesher interpreting earlier that morning.

‘If you are willing like what Jesher was, I will use you’

Ok, so it began: it was the first cell I’ve seen playing worship (they have no praise btw) on keyboard. (they are really rich, I mean RICH)

And the atmosphere was deep, never soaked so deeply in the spirit before….. Then came the word.

This time round, it was so much better. It was simple, easy to understand, but crucially: God’s presence was heavy and strong, and soothing.. People were broken, convicted, in tears…… and I saw a side to Awie I’ve never seen before.

Afterwards some thanked me, saying they felt the message spoke directly into their hearts (Praise God!!)

And that wasn’t all. No…..the night’s still young

the signs and wonders followed us, I mean followed us!! During fellowship, Awie bumped into this old lady he had tried to reach out to a few months. But happened that it was raining and she hitched a ride with us. And that ride ……oh my, she was talking to Awie and he witnessed to her on the spot. And by the time he reached her home, he was guiding her to say the sinner’s prayer in hokkien. And immediately Ris, Wan Teng and I felt the Holy Spirit RUSH into the car, waiting for her to finish the prayer. And the moment she finished, we felt the spirit coming down Heavily, gently upon her……WOW

All in the space of 15 minutes. Evangelism in action. And it all happened in one night

On the trip back to the hotel, I wondered: If I had surrendered to my feelings, chose not to come, would Awie’s cell be ministered as they had? Would I witness the old lady being saved before my very eyes???

Then again, I felt this in my heart: ‘Hector, the camera was taken from you to test your love, you’ve chosen to serve me instead of dwelling on your loss. And this what I’ve worked through you. This what I’ve let you see. Now bring this back home, remember it, share it’

Puji Tuhan!!!! (PTL in bahasa)

And that: was day two!!

Day 3: 7th August

The dance

Let the pictures speak for themselves, it was awesome. Full of fire, full of conviction. It was a superb youth service with so much vibrancy and energy. The church and especially the youths amazed us. They literally had our DNA!!! Doing everything the CHC style, looking up to us as Pastors, leaders (when we’re only SOT students, nothing more nothing less), such humility and servanthood (makes me ashamed of myself, and looking at some of us back home compared to them).

Yeah, we did great!! =D

Day 4: 8th August

While everyone back home in SG queuing for seats and stuff. All of us went separate places: Medan Harvest, Bukit Binjal, Bukit Doa etc. We did various stuff, such as supporting children’s church, preach the word, share offering messages and sharing of testimonies (Like I did above at Bukit Doa Harvest).

And the final Youth service: Word by Pastor Ming Jin, Offering message by Alvin.

The best is saved for the last =)

Our Dance finale

We went crazy after everything ended!!!!!

And here were our Medan Heroes: Not us, Pastor Nuah, and AWIE!!!

Could say so much more but just realized the word count had hit mid 4 figures, lol.

And that’s all: our work has officially ended, time to PAR-TAY!!!!!! =D


Day 5: 9th August

R&R!!! The first day where we took our time to WAKE up for a change

Went for massage, shopping and whatnots….

And guess what we saw:

Can you imagine how gaga Alvin & I got? It’s cringeworthy!!! But you’ll understand (after bumping into numerous mancs here, manc posters, manc this manc that, even one of the cell group guys told me he’s a manc after spotting my phantom Gerrard jersey o_o) and this is the first sign of BROTHERHOOD we saw.

Not to mention Jody!!! (Pastor’s son somemore, don’t mess with the anointing!!! Hehehaha!!!) Same flow!!!

Had plenty of fun, crappy jokes by Pst Nuah, loads of bullcrap shared with one another. Friendships forged in the space of one trip what 4 months in SOT couldn’t. Even going to Awie’s bungalow (it was HUGE, pity I was sick that night =( )

And I didn’t want to return home….honest


Day 6: 10th August

Ok, nothing much. Just being able to get up and make it to the airport to make flight home is a miracle in itself.

And the sight of Medan while we took off is a sight I’ll always hold in my heart: leaving that place behind and all those wonderful people…….

I’ll be back, as often as I can. My promise to Pst Nuah, Awie, Pst Johnny and everyone!!! They’re officially my adopted church/nation now =)


Touchdown in SG? The first thing to greet us wasn’t Changi Airport, nor duty free, nor the cleanness of everything. But the SMSes and the emails….=_=’. Spent quite abit of time settling those and ‘resetting’ my mind back to SG mode.

We did everything, Preach, lead worship, share testimonies on stage, offering messages, ministered and comforted people. Planted seeds into lives, and I believe we’ve sparked a youth revival in Medan.

That in a nutshell (a humongous one I might add) was Medan!!! The mission trip of a lifetime!!!

Ok, the next point:

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Now, in two days I’ll be graduating from SOT…..

And I remember what Pst Bobby spoke to us guys, the SINGLE ones that is =P

Well….need a few words with myself regarding that. Saw this post by Elise (just got to know her in SOT)

Quoting her blog:

“I want to be a wife who can bring out the best in her man.

And I will also want to find a man who can bring out the best in me.”

But the bottom line is, all these are possible only after going through a PROCESS. (:

Haha, well. Gotta look at myself when reading that line. Truth is: am I worthy? Not just to be a boyfriend but also as a caretaker, a pillar of strength when the chips are down, an overcomer when the going gets tough? Loving her even though she might not see it let alone understand?

And I know myself, there are certain aspects of me that needs to be taken care of before going into a relationship.

Looks like it’s gonna take longer than expected (better that way, rather a relationship worth waiting for some time while the both of us are moulded and trained to love, serve, bear with and understand one another rather than jumping in immediately and getting burnt badly).

Well, to know who that girl is: refer to the  entry titled insane move. If you know me well enough/sharp enough. You’ll know who she is =)

Well, it’s off my chest. On the bright side: UOL’s gonna be challenging but fun!! All the econs analysis, maths and statistics is tough and saps brain juice(though I won’t have it any other way, just the way I like it: a challenge). This is my calling. Everything I’ve been prepared for and it suits me to the core. Even if it doesn’t, I’ll knuckle down and adapt to it.

God’s word for me this year, again before SOT, throughout SOT.

Psalms 37:4

Delight yourself also in the LORD,
And He shall give you the desires of your heart.

It is done: I’m gonna be a SOT GRADUATE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


=D

