Iron indeed sharpens iron

On the back of another challenging week in SOT and at work

Received this rhema from quiet time during overnight prayer meet:

Isaiah 21:1-8

The burden against the Wilderness of the Sea.

As whirlwinds in the South pass through,
So
it comes from the desert, from a terrible land.
A distressing vision is declared to me;
The treacherous dealer deals treacherously,
And the plunderer plunders.
Go up, O Elam!
Besiege, O Media!
All its sighing I have made to cease.
Therefore my loins are filled with pain;
Pangs have taken hold of me, like the pangs of a woman in labor.
I was distressed when I heard it;
I was dismayed when I saw it.
My heart wavered, fearfulness frightened me;
The night for which I longed He turned into fear for me.
Prepare the table,
Set a watchman in the tower,
Eat and drink.
Arise, you princes,
Anoint the shield!
For thus has the Lord said to me:

“ Go, set a watchman,
Let him declare what he sees.”
And he saw a chariot with a pair of horsemen,
A chariot of donkeys, and a chariot of camels,
And he listened earnestly with great care.
Then he cried, “A lion, my Lord!
I stand continually on the watchtower in the daytime;
I have sat at my post every night.

It warned me of what to expect in the coming months, all those tests that is to come, what’s in the opening 2 weeks is simply a sneak preview of the enemy’s attacks. Welcome to spiritual warfare.

3 months the lord told me of the trials that is to come, to endure and stand fast until the breakthrough in July. (coincidentally my 23rd!!)


Met Alvin afterwards and he shared with me this verse:

2nd Corinthians 4:8-11

We are hard-pressed on every side, yet not crushed; we are perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed— always carrying about in the body the dying of the Lord Jesus, that the life of Jesus also may be manifested in our body. For we who live are always delivered to death for Jesus’ sake, that the life of Jesus also may be manifested in our mortal flesh.

So apt, describes our lives one way or another now. Financially not knowing how to fulfil our building fund, where to find money to pay for our school fees, where our next meal’s coming from(ok lah, not that bad now, but it might eventually come to that point), to be so open and giving. Persecutions from family and friends, our studies, everything crying out for our attention with so little time.

And eerily enough it describes Liverpool’s season. So devastating, yet we still find the strength to carry on. We have to, we want to, it’s the love for the team that’s carrying us forward now. Nothing else

Then Jesher shared with me a revelation on Proverbs 27:17

Iron sharpens iron. So a man sharpens the countenance of his friend.

When Iron grinds against iron, it scrapes, it shrieks, it is pressed firm and hard against each other, it becomes superheated, almost to the breaking point with sparks flying everywhere. Not a pretty sight nor sound. And the process takes time.

At the end, out comes a pair of swords, sharpened, smoothed, ready to be used by its’ maker.

Been a tough week, so many attacks on my mind since the start of SOT. Not just myself, one way or another all of us in team 20, from MY zone have been under trials in different areas of our lives: financially for one, relationships for another, friendships severely tested almost to the breaking point. Accompanied by a prudent warning of what’s to come ahead through the revelation from Isaiah 21:

Coming to his house, he will not hesitate to clean you out, highlight every flaw you have in character or habit. And deal with you in every aspect of your life. John 15:2-4. Especially so in SOT, cause with 5 times the dedication, comes 5 times the consecration, 5 times the price to pay and 5 times the speed of his testing and cleansing. It is brutal and painful.

And so it was: week 2 ends. 22 to go.

Really humbled, countenance has suffered of late, though I’m not giving up. It’s never in me to give up, years of suffering in the wilderness, suffering the situation in my family for over a decade now, affecting my emotions which took me a better part of 8 years to recover (and it’s suddenly surfacing again). Suffering in school throughout, at various workplaces, in the army. Everywhere, I should ‘ve been broken a long, long time ago. Yet I refuse to, chose not to.

Haha, sorry for sounding this serious, I’m being really candid here. This is the truth after all.

Which brings back another verse: (Words and verses popping up all over the place suddenly: by-product of SOT =) )

1 Corinthians 8:1-3

Knowledge puffs up, but love edifies. And if anyone thinks that he knows anything, he knows nothing yet as he ought to know. But if anyone loves God, this one is known by him.

It’s pointless learning all that in bible school, SOT, without applying it out there in the world that needs it. And we are his vessels of love, after all. It’s that same love that led us to be saved in the first place.

Easter is here, the harvest is near.

Put everything else aside. Let’s go to work!!! =)

