In the midst of doing SOT stuff, part-time job planning and self-contemplation.

Looked back at my long 4, LBV and helmet lying in the storeroom and instantly memories came rushing back.

Those days spent in the SAF, from October 2007 to August last year. Travelling from Yankee Coy in Tekong, posted to the Artillery @ Khatib camp as a Gunnery Corporal. Eventually ending up in places like Kathu township in SA, the days spent outfield in Simpang Yishun and the Kalahari in South Africa.


Those really were the days.

Obviously some stuff can’t be posted here lest some MSD nut with nothing better to do trawls upon here finds out and hauls me up to be court-martialed.

So the next best thing is to show some stuff on Africa instead: After all, how many could lay claim to the fact they’ve went outfield in Africa?? And all expenses paid for by SAF. Full story’s on the building fund completion actually. I’ll leave that to another time.

And the endless saikang, arrows sticking into my back, endless IPPTs, SOCs, Outfield exercises, stand-by bed, area, office, garage, or the downright sian stand-by universe.

And the constant hits and politickings against me in the office: Everyday’s a mental battlefield in there.

Not to mention I was outnumbered 10 mancs-1 scouser in the office. And 6 of them were nasty. Constant sniping on my character, assassinating me blatantly, ridiculing my faith, and most of all on my team.

I let God fight for me instead.

Take that. End of

NOW you know why I’m not gonna take anymore shit with mancs dumping crap on us. Nobody, I mean NOBODY takes it out on my team nor my people without getting away with it. Kinda forged my protective, inspirational side in that time. Take any of my loved ones on: you’ll be in a hell of a war with me.

Ok, peace, out.

Anyway, gotta look back with fond memories at khatib too.

Especially SOC (standard obstacle course), which seriously is an excuse to ‘kill’ off guys. Ok, let me explain for the benefit of the girls/young boys yet to ‘suffer’. Imagine waking up first thing in the morning, donning on the long 4 plus boots, then grabbing the pathetic excuse of food called ‘breakfast’. Then grabbing the LBV loaded with one full water bottle, somedays with dummy mags, grenades, water pouches, toggle ropes and the FAD(First Aid Dressing), the 800g helmet(which minuses your IQ by at least 30 points) to take your ‘wife’ from the armskote.

At that time, my wife was really a chore. Cleaned her, oiled her well, protected her, too care of her, stripped her inside out and knew every part of her intimately. And all you girls and young boys: before you go getting any dirty ideas:

This was my wife:Yeah, all 3.5kg of her. Needs constant care and attention, can blow up on you should you mistreat her. Treat her well and she’ll protect you in war. Her name’s the M-16. Sounds like the REAL wife. yeah haha.

Ok where was I? Oh right, SOC.

Then at the bright early time of 0730, everybody forms up and given their detailing. Before warming up, putting everything on before running.

And yes. This is VERY different from normal runs. you ‘ll run 700 metres, wearing your helmet, boots, LBV weighing up to 8kg. and your rifle slung unto your back.

Sadistically in my camp, there are two uphill slopes in the first 700 metres. Once the distance is covered: just a piece of cake, 10 obstacles to meet you after running,

1: A two meter high low wall

2: Parallel bars the height of your shoulders.

3: A stepping board with barbed wire in front

4: Swing trainers meaning an upsized, longer, more slippery monkey bars with horizontal and vertical bars.

5: A four metre high low rope

6: Finally something more human: a waist high wooden bar to vault over

7: Swinging bridge  about 30 cm off the ground

8: A 3 m high see saw high ramp (Seen at least 20-30 plus people stuck on top cause of fear of heights)

9: A 2.5 m awkward gate (Bending ur body and flipping it atop the gate)

10: A 4m high Jacob’s ladder(a good many of us feared for our family jewels as we did this, apparently one unlucky guy fell on his nuts on top before: ouch)

11:  Finally, running up a 3m high sloped ramp and jumping clear of barbed wire once you’ve reached the top.

Oops,that’s 11 obstacles. ahhhh, shag cannot think.

Once the obstacles are cleared just a piece of cake: another 600m dash back to the end point. This is the point where we really meet our God. (We just want to throw everything down, lie down and play dead for 30 mins) Also this is the point where everyone feels like dying/going to die.

And before I forget: there’s a timing to meet also: beat 10mins flat for 1st year soldiers, 9mins 30secs for 2nd year soldiers.

And this is where all the pattern comes out, break this la, break that, all kinds of excuses and funny statuses will come out. If you’re a combat NSF, you’ll know perfectly what I mean.

It’s not at all bad really, took me 21 months of constant, feeling like I’m-going-to-drop-dead-any-moment of non-stop running and training to pass: from 17mins down to 9mins 17 secs. Just to clear the obstacle from hell.

Isaiah 40:29-31, meditated non stop for 21 painful months.

Conquered my first marathon during my green days too. From struggling in 2.4km to a 42.195km finisher in May 2009, Truly impossible is nothing.

At the end of the day, it made me meaner, tougher, stronger: physically, mentally and emotionally also. Whatever comes, it’s not gonna break me.

Ok, back to civilian mode:

ORD LOH!!!!

